Turbodustbin

What's in your shed chaps? Long-term ongoing projects here please...
User avatar
B202NUT
Posts: 3308
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:59 am
Location: USA

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby B202NUT » Mon Mar 31, 2014 4:28 pm


I am politically incorrect, that's true. Political correctness to me is just intellectual terrorism. I find that really scary, and I won't be intimidated into changing my mind. Everyone isn't going to love you all the time..

User avatar
old saaber
Posts: 7248
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Bromley, Kent. United Kingdom.

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby old saaber » Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:07 pm

The fuel injectors rattle quite loudly on a batch-fire injection system - such as the standard system on a 900. All for injectors click twice per engine cycle at the same time. Trionic 5 fires injectors 1 at a time at the right moment for each cylinder. So after fitting t5 you won't hear any more clicking noises coming from the engine. You can't hear one injector clicking but you can hear 4 clicking.

TurboDustbin
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:29 am

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby TurboDustbin » Tue Apr 01, 2014 8:26 am

I thought I'd gap the new plugs as I didn't know they came ready gapped. Now I do know that, I shan't gap them.

It's definitely a clacking tappet, rather than a clicking injector, but it's only when the oil is stone cold and goes away after a couple of minutes.

Anyway, I didn't get a chance to change the DI over last night as the the 9000 started acting-up and I had to spend time on that. Maybe tonight.

TurboDustbin
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:29 am

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby TurboDustbin » Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:29 pm

Changed the spark plugs and DI and I'm now hitting fuel-cut, I think. It's ok if I don't put my foot flat down and bring the boost in gently, but pretty violent when it does happen.

Shouldn't have sold my canusb lead thing.... Is there anywhere cheaper than £100 for these?

User avatar
B202NUT
Posts: 3308
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:59 am
Location: USA

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby B202NUT » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:34 am


I am politically incorrect, that's true. Political correctness to me is just intellectual terrorism. I find that really scary, and I won't be intimidated into changing my mind. Everyone isn't going to love you all the time..

User avatar
old saaber
Posts: 7248
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Bromley, Kent. United Kingdom.

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby old saaber » Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:34 pm

I believe there may be one other type of CAN-USB on the market which is compatible with t5. I can't remember who makes it though and I'm not sure if it is as trusted as the Lawicel?

If you're hitting fuel cut-off then perhaps it's overboosting, which is where the rapid acceleration is building up speed so quick the chain reaction goes a little too far too quickly and the ECU can't control it.

I think you have an uprated wastegate actuator on yours at PhilB's recommendation? So the ECU would have to be mapped to work with that.

TurboDustbin
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:29 am

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby TurboDustbin » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:12 am

That's right, it's got a Forge actuator fitted. Only issue is I can't get hold of anyone to map the car, as it doesn't seem like the current map is quite right.

Slightly off topic, but the back of my instrument cluster is melted around the light housings. Any reason why I can't plonk in a spare from a 1991 T16s?

User avatar
peva
Posts: 4198
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 1:42 pm
Location: West London & Wilts

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby peva » Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:00 pm

It's really good to be here and as I always say, it's really good to be anywhere! KR

s900t8v
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby s900t8v » Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:05 pm

b202 if the idle is hunting you have a bad/dirty idle controller or a vacuum leak

the t5 idle control needs no adjustments other than setting the desired idle speed, it will adapt until a steady idle is achieved, if there are leaks it will keep trying to adapt.

the best alternative to a lawicel is johnc's combiadapter which kicks ass over the lawicel as it has EGT (which can be displayed in the modified version of t5suite I have coded) and analog to digital inputs, and does canusb and BDM - for the same price..

User avatar
B202NUT
Posts: 3308
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:59 am
Location: USA

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby B202NUT » Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:30 pm


I am politically incorrect, that's true. Political correctness to me is just intellectual terrorism. I find that really scary, and I won't be intimidated into changing my mind. Everyone isn't going to love you all the time..

User avatar
old saaber
Posts: 7248
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Bromley, Kent. United Kingdom.

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby old saaber » Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:55 pm

Well to answer the question. I suspect the answer is 'no' - due to wiring differences. However, you would be able to use housing from the +91 cluster with your old side clocks and probably keep the +91 speedo because they're much better than inaccurate and unreliable earlier speedos. I have a +91 in my convertible and the difference in the font is so subtle you don't notice it.

User avatar
B202NUT
Posts: 3308
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:59 am
Location: USA

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby B202NUT » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:16 pm


I am politically incorrect, that's true. Political correctness to me is just intellectual terrorism. I find that really scary, and I won't be intimidated into changing my mind. Everyone isn't going to love you all the time..

s900t8v
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby s900t8v » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:45 pm

Turbo dustbin you can put any year instrument panel in. You just have to change the Pinot on the connectors (you can do this without cutting anything) just trace and compare the instruments printed circuit

TurboDustbin
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:29 am

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby TurboDustbin » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:00 am

Hmm...not sure when the clusters changed, but this one looked exactly like the old one, front and back, and everything plugged-in and worked as it used to. Only the car is 70k miles younger now!

Made a pigs ear of dying my dashboard burgundy in the meantime

s900t8v
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby s900t8v » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:03 am

Just swap your speedo in. Or was the speedo itself damaged

TurboDustbin
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:29 am

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby TurboDustbin » Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:34 pm

It didn't read the right speed :P

s900t8v
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby s900t8v » Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:37 pm

what year model was it from? or what year model is your c900

the wrong speedo drive gear is in the trans, you just need to get a pre or post 87 speedo drive gear (the opposite to what your car is )

User avatar
old saaber
Posts: 7248
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Bromley, Kent. United Kingdom.

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby old saaber » Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:33 pm

Naa. His first speedo failed and I replaced it with another one. I attempted to meddle with the mileage to mantain correct reading but set too much tension in the speedo needle so it was always about 10mph under.

s900t8v
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby s900t8v » Thu Apr 10, 2014 10:46 am

if you look around the outer edge of the speedo it has a little white line which shows where you line the speedo needle up with to get the right tension in the spring - line it up - press it on and then gently bend it over the speedo needle stop. (the white line is in about the 7 o clock position.

If you line it up with this line you;ll get it within 3-4kph of the correct speed!

you can change the mileage by gently bending the white metal rod away from the gears, this allows you to turn the mileage counters (with a little resistance) to the correct reading. I have done this on a few speedos with no trouble. Don't force the gears - you just need to bend the bar out of the way.

User avatar
peva
Posts: 4198
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 1:42 pm
Location: West London & Wilts

Re: Turbodustbin

Postby peva » Thu Apr 10, 2014 2:35 pm

It's really good to be here and as I always say, it's really good to be anywhere! KR


Return to “Project place”